06 December 2017

CANADA: List of countries requiring medical examination revised 

Effective 23 November 2017, Canada has made changes to the list of countries that require immigration medical examination.

Singapore, Tunisia and Fiji have been added to the list. This means that individuals who have lived in any of these countries for more than six months in the previous year need to undergo an immigration medical exam before applying for Canadian residence visa.  

The countries that have been removed from the list are: Argentina, Bahrain, Belize, Colombia, Portugal, the Seychelles, Suriname and Venezuela. 

The Canadian list of countries at high risk for tuberculosis is revised periodically based on World Health Organization risk assessment levels.  The next revision of this list is scheduled to take place in 2021.

How does this affect the client?

Foreign nationals who have lived in Singapore, Tunisia or Fiji for at least six moths in the previous year should account for additional time required to complete the medical examination.