30th August 2017

MALAYSIA: New E-Visa for foreign workers from ten nations

On 1 August, 2017, the Malaysian government introduced a new E-Visa program for Foreign Expatriates, of eight Asian and two European countries. The ten eligible nations are the same countries included in Malaysia’s E-Visa for Business Travelers program, which includes: China, India, Pakistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Serbia, and Montenegro.  The new program allows eligible nationalities entering Malaysia for work purposes to obtain 30-day e-visas, during which time they can obtain their long-term Employment Passes (EPs).

Since this is a recent change, there is some uncertainty as to how the process will work in practice. It seems, however, that once foreign nationals from the ten eligible countries (listed above) receive their letter of approval for work in Malaysia, they can then go onto the VisaMalaysia website and complete their e-visa application online. Their e-visa application should be processed within 48-hours, and approved visas will be emailed to the applicant, with confirmation also sent to their employer. The employee will then print the e-visa and enter Malaysia using the printed e-visa and work authorization approval letter. 

How does this affect the client?

Given the uncertainty of the new process, Employers may want to continue using the traditional consular visa process until more clarity and certainty can be established.


You are here: Home Immigration Malaysia New E-Visa for foreign workers from ten nations